Edmund und Rosa Hlawka Award in Mathematics

The award is given to mathematicians who are Austrian citizens and not older than 45 years for outstanding research in the fields of number theory and geometry, especially in the theory of uniform distribution and the geometry of numbers.

Nominations may be submitted by established scientists in the field of mathematics working at a university or research institution in Austria.

Direct applications are not accepted.

The award amounts to EUR 1.900,-.

Next date for submissions: 2018
Nomination documents:
  • Online application form
  • CV and publication list of the nominee
  • Selection of up to 3 publications of the nominee (pdf-files)
  • Personal statement by the nominator - please addresss the following aspects, in particular:
    - nominee's international reputation
    - description of the discoveries, recognised theories or insights that he or she has achived as well as their impact on the field
    - assessment of his/her publication activity
Please send all documents by email to application@oeaw.ac.at and two print versions (only one print version of the publications) by regular mail to the following address:

Austrian Academy of Sciences
Awards and Fellowships
Postgasse 7-9
1010 Wien

E-Mail: stipref@oeaw.ac.at