Moritz Csáky Fellowship


  1. Moritz Csáky dedicated both prizes he was granted, the Wilhelm Hartel-Preis as well as the Karl von Vogelsang-Staatspreis, to an award for young scientists from the Eastern or South-Eastern neighbouring countries of Austria (the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Bulgaria, the Ukraine, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia).
  2. Every second year, beginning in the year 2005, the award which amounts to EUR 2.200.- is given to a young scientist (Mag., PostDoc) in the humanities, cultural studies or social sciences, not older than 40 years, for research in Austria.
  3. Candidates must apply themselves, proposals from others are not accepted.
    The required documents should be submitted to the Austrian Academy of Sciences by March 1 of every odd year.
    The Committee of the Moritz Csáky Donation selects the winner solely based on scientific criteria.

Documents required for application (in German or English):  

  • Online application form
  • Curriculum vitae (tabular form)
  • List of publications (of the last 5 years)
  • Letter of recommendation of a scientist from the applicant's native country
  • Short description of the research project and the reason for the stay in Austria (3-5 pages) including bibliography

Please send all documents by email and two print versions by regular mail to the following address:

Verwaltungsstelle für Stipendien und Preise
Postgasse 7-9
1010 Wien