Walther E. Petrascheck Award

The Walther E. Petrascheck Award recognises scientists under 35 years of age who can demonstrate outstanding scientific works in the field of earth sciences and are working at a university or a research institution in one of the following countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, or Austria.

Applications are invited from scholars who are not more than 35 years of age.

Selection Process

Prize winners are decided by an awards committee whose members are nominated by the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the OeAW on the basis of international peer review.

Application Documents (in English)

  • Tabular CV including list of publications
  • Abstracts of the publications submitted
  • Selection of a maximum of 5 publications submitted for the prize
  • Brief statement on the type and extent of the applicant’s contribution to these selected publications

ONLINE FORM: Application deadline 2020 expired.

The completed documents are to be uploaded via the online form and sent by post.

Fill in the online form and upload the documents as a total of 2 PDF files.

It is not necessary to supply signatures in the electronic versions. Protected files will not be accepted.

The individual files may not exceed 10 MB. The files are to be given the following names:

Application_Surname.pdf  (i.e. application documents)

Publication_Surname.pdf  (i.e. submitted publications) 

Please send the application documents, the submitted scientific papers and the completed and signed online form by post to the following address:

Fellowships and Awards
Austrian Academy of Sciences
Vordere Zollamtsstraße 3
1030 Wien


Research Areas
Earth Sciences

Value of the Award
4.000,- Euro

biennially, in even years

Next call for applications: 2022


  • Awards Committee for Awards in the Field of Geology and Palaeontology
  • Laureates
  • Award Ceremony / Gallery
  • History of the Walther E. Petrascheck Award


  • OEAW