Jubiläumsfeier 10 Jahre Ignaz L. Lieben-Preis / 10 Years Ignaz L. Lieben Award

Programm (14.00 – 17.15 Uhr)

14.00 Begrüßung / Welcome Christoph Kratky

1976 PhD in chemistry at the ETH Zurich, post-doctoral researcher at Harvard University, return to Austria, 1985 Habilitation, from 1995 Full Professor for Physical Chemistry at the University of Graz, 2005-2013 President of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

14.10 Adolph Lieben und die Ignaz L. Lieben-Stiftung.

Die erste wissenschaftliche Stiftung in Österreich.

Robert W. Rosner

born in Vienna in 1924, immigrated to England in 1939; after his return to Austria, he obtained a PhD in chemistry from the University of Vienna. From 1957 to 1990, he worked at the Loba Chemie Company in Austria. After his retirement, he finished his studies of political science and history of science at the University of Vienna with a master's degree.

14.25 Das Ignaz Lieben-Projekt

Christian R. Noe

studied technical chemistry and pharmacy at the Vienna University of Technology and the University of Vienna, 1972 PhD, 1982 Habilitation, 1989-1995 Head of the Christian Doppler Laboratory of Chemistry of Chiral Compounds: Chemical Synthesis, 1991-1999 Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Frankfurt, since 1999 Full Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry and 2002-2008 Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences at the University of Vienna.

Preisträger der Jahre 2004 bis 2012 / Award Winners of the Years 2004 to 2012

14.45 Moderation / Chair: Arnold Schmidt

studied physics at the University of Vienna, participated in the development of the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Solid State Physics from 1962; 1966-1971 Research Fellow at the University of York, 1971-1975 Research Associate at the University of California in Berkeley. From 1986 Full Professor at the Department of General Electrical Engineering and Electronics, then at the Department of Photonics of Vienna University of Technology, 1994-2003 President of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

Markus Aspelmeyer, experimental quantum optics and quantum information (2007)

2002 PhD in physics at the University of Munich, 2003-2006 Feodor Lynen Postdoctoral Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum information (IQOQI) in Vienna, 2007-2009 Senior Scientist at IQOQI and from 2009 Full Professor of Physics at the University of Vienna. Awards: 2007 Ignaz L. Lieben Award, 2008 START Prize (FWF), 2009 ERC Starting Grant

Andrius Baltuška, ultrafast laser spectroscopy (2006)

studied physics at the University of Vilnius, 2000 PhD at the University of Groningen, 2000-2002 Research Associate at the University of Tokyo, 2002-2004 Researcher at the Vienna University of Technology, 2004-2006 group leader at the Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, from 2006 Professor at the Photonics Institute of Vienna University of Technology.

Awards: 2004 European Young Investigator Award (EURYI), 2006 Ignaz L. Lieben Award, 2011 ERC Starting Grant, 2013 ERC Proof of Concept Grant

Frank Verstraete, quantum information theory (2009)

studied physics at the University of Ghent and received his PhD from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, 2002-2004 researcher at the Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, 2004-2006 Postdoctoral Scholar at

the California Institute of Technology, from 2006 Professor for Theory of Quantum Optics and Quantum Information at the University of Vienna.

Awards: 2009 ERC Starting Grant and Ignaz L. Lieben Award

14.30 Kaffeepause / Coffee Break

14.45 Moderation / Chair: Christoph Kratky

Ronald Micura, RNA-chemistry (2005)

1995 PhD in chemistry, 1996-1998 Postdoctoral research fellow at ETH Zurich and The Scripps Research Institute, California (Erwin Schrödinger fellowship of the FWF), 1999-2002 Group Leader at the University of Linz (APART fellowship of the Austrian Academy of Sciences), 2002 Habilitation, from 2008 Full Professor for Organic Chemistry at the University of Innsbruck.

Awards: 2003 Novartis Award for Chemistry, 2005 Ignaz L. Lieben Award

Csaba Pál, metabolic network analysis (2008)

2002 PhD in molecular biology at the Eötvös Loránd University, 2003-2004 Royal Society postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Bath, 2005-2007 EMBO Postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Oxford, 2007-2008 Visiting Scientist at the University of Trento, from 2008 Leader of the Evolutionary Systems Biology Group at the Biological Research Center of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Szeged (see www.brc.hu/sysbiol/).

Awards: 2007 EMBO Installation Grant, 2008 ERC Starting Grant and Ignaz L. Lieben Award

Mihály Kovács, muscle motor proteins (2011)

2002 PhD in Structural Biochemistry at the Eötvös Loránd University, 2002-2005 Postdoctoral Researcher at National Institutes of Health (NIH), USA, 2008 Habilitation, from 2005 Associate Research Professor and Principal Investigator at Eötvös Loránd University, from 2011 ELTE-MTA "Momentum" Motor Enzymology Research Group (see www.mk-lab.org).

Awards: 1998 and 2001 EMBO Fellowship, 2002 NIH Visiting Fellowship, 2006 and 2010 Bolyai Fellowship, 2011 Ignaz L. Lieben Award

4.30 Moderation / Chair: Peter Schuster

studied chemistry and physics at the University of Vienna, PhD sub auspiciis praesidentis 1967, 1968-69 postdoctoral assistant at the Max-Planck-Institute of Physical Chemistry Göttingen, 1971 Habilitation, 1973-2009 Full Professor of Theoretical Chemistry at the University of Vienna, 1973-1992 and from 1996 Head of the Institute of Theoretical Chemistry, 1992-1995 Founding Director of the Institute of Molecular Biotechnology in Jena, 2000-2003 Vice-President and 2006-2009 President of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

Zoltán Nusser, cellular and molecular neuroanatomy and physiology (2004)

PhD in 1995, 1995-1998 Postdoctoral scientist at University of Oxford, 1998-2000 Wellcome Travelling Research Fellow at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 2000 Head of the Laboratory of Cellular Neurophysiology at the Institute of Experimental Medicine, Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

Awards: 2004 Ignaz L. Lieben Award, 2005 European Young Investigator Award (EURYI), 2012 ERC Advanced Grant

Robert Kralovics, myeloid malignancies (2010)

studied molecular biology and genetics in Bratislava, PhD in biophysics at the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic in Brno, postdoctoral researcher at University of Alabama at Birmingham and Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Senior Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Basel, from 2006 Principal Investigator at the Research Center for Molecular Medicine (CeMM) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

Awards: 2010 Ignaz L. Lieben Award

Michael Sixt, morphodynamics of immune cells (2012)

studied medicine at the University of Erlangen, 2002 MD, Postdoctoral Fellow at Institute for Experimental Pathology in Lund, Sweden, 2004-2010 group leader at Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried, 2010-2013 Tenure Track Assistant Professor and from 2013 Professor at IST Austria.

Awards: 2011 ERC Starting Grant and START-Prize (FWF), 2012 Ignaz L. Lieben Award, 2013 Young Investigators Medal der European Biophysical Societies' Association