The Dissertation Award for Research on Migration is awarded for a doctoral thesis project that has been submitted and accepted for supervision at an Austrian university but is yet to be completed and examines refugeeism and migration, the integration of migrants or societal transformation as a result of migration. Submissions are welcome from all fields of the social sciences, humanities and jurisprudence and legal theory.

Doctoral/PhD studies may not have begun more than three years before the date of submission.

Applicants do not have to hold Austrian citizenship.

Selection Procedure

Prize winners are decided by an awards committee of the Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences of the OeAW on the basis of international peer review.

Application Documents

  • Tabular CV
  • Exposé of doctoral thesis project (3,000–5,000 words including bibliography)
  • Confirmation of acceptance for supervision and letter of recommendation from doctoral supervisor
  • Abstract (300–500 words)

Applications may be submitted in German OR English.


The completed documents are to be uploaded via the online form and sent by post.

Fill in the online form and upload the documents as a total of 2 PDF files.

It is not necessary to supply signatures in the electronic versions. Protected files will not be accepted.

The individual files may not exceed 10 MB. The files are to be given the following names:

Application_Surname.pdf  (i.e. application documents)

Abstract_Surname.pdf  (i.e. abstract) 

All prepared documents must be submitted via the online form.

The application documents and the completed and signed online form must also be sent by post to the following address:

Department of Fellowships and Awards
Austrian Academy of Sciences
Vordere Zollamtsstraße 3
1030 Wien

Do not use plastic wallets or staples when compiling your documents. Submit them in the sequence outlined above, unbound.
(The documents will not be returned following the assessment process.)


Research Areas
Humanities, Social and Cultural Sciences

Value of the Award
4.000,-- Euro


Next Call in 2022


  • OEAW