(Anniversary Fund of the City of Vienna for the OeAW)

The Best Publication Award is given for an outstanding dissertation in the humanities, cultural and social sciences, which was carried out at a research institution of the Austrian Academy of Sciences or supervised by a research associate of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and was completed no more than two years before the submission deadline.

Preference will be given to candidates whose dissertation has already been published or accepted for publication by a publisher at the time of submission.


Selection procedure

The prize is awarded by the board of trustees of the Anniversary Fund of the City of Vienna for the OeAW at the recommendation of an awards committee put together by Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences.

Submission documents

  1. Application documents:
    1. Tabular CV including a list out publication
    2. Abstract of the work submitted (1 page max.)
  2. Dissertation (PDF)

Upload via online form


The completed documents are to be uploaded via the online form.

Fill in the online form and upload the documents as a total of 2 PDF files. Protected files will not be accepted.

The individual files may not exceed 10 MB.

Afterwards, you will receive a document that you will have to print and sign. Return a scan of the signed form in PDF format (single file) as an attachment to a reply to the received email (click reply button). IMPORTANT: The default subject and recipient must not be changed.


Upon receipt of your application, we will check that it is complete and meets the formal criteria and it will then be entered into the database of the Department of Fellowships and Awards.

Once the application has been checked for completeness, the applicant will receive confirmation by email.

At the request of the awarding committee or the reviewer, a printed copy of the scholarly work can be requested subsequently.


Research Areas
Humanities, Cultural Studies and Social Sciences

Amount of the Award:
4.000,-- Euro

Next Call:

May 15, 2024