The prize was founded in 2003 on the initiative of the Works Council of the OeAW to honour the presidency of Werner Welzig. The Works Council and the OeAW contribute an equal share of the overall sum of 3,000 Euros annually.

The award winners are employees of the Austrian Academy of Sciences who contribute in a special way to the internal cohesion and/or public reputation of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

The prize is not intended to honor scientific achievements, but is to be awarded to employees regardless of their respective field of work. In particular, those persons should be considered for the award who, within the scope of their activities, contribute to the communication of scientific topics to the public.

Active members of the Works Council and heads of institutes and administrative units are not eligible for the Werner Welzig Prize.

Nominations are only accepted from employees of the OeAW.

Selection Procedure

Prize winners are decided by the awards committee, comprising three representatives of the Works Council and three Members of the OeAW.

Nomination Documents

Please send your nomination together with detailed justifi ation and (if available) a tabular CV of the nominee by email to barbara.haberl(at) 


Value of the Award
3.000,-- Euro

Submission Deadline
extended until 4 November 2022




  • OEAW and Works Council of the OEAW