The Award for Palaeobiology is given to palaeontologists holding Austrian citizenship who have produced a special achievement in the form of an extensive and outstanding  publication in the field of palaeontology, especially in functional morphology, the study of facies and similar areas.

The applicant should be the author of the publication or it should be clear from the content which sections were authored by the applicant.

The prize can also be awarded for a life’s work.

Selection Process

Prize winners are decided by an awards committee whose members are nominated by the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the OeAW.

The prize cannot be shared.

Application Documents

  1. Application documents:
    1. Tabular CV including list of publications
    2. Letter of recommendation
  2. Publications:
    1. Selection of a maximum of 3 of the applicant’s most important publications as PDF files
    2. Brief statement on the type and extent of the applicant’s contribution to these selected publications

Applications may be submitted in German or English.

Upload via online form


The completed documents are to be uploaded via the online form.

Fill in the online form and upload the documents as a total of 2 PDF files.

The individual files may not exceed 10 MB. The files are to be given the following names:

  • Application_Surname.pdf  (i.e. application documents)
  • Publication_Surname.pdf  (i.e. submitted publications)

Afterwards, you will receive a document that you will have to print and sign. Return a scan of the signed form in PDF format (single file) as an attachment to a reply to the received email (click reply button). IMPORTANT: The default subject and recipient must not be changed.


Upon receipt of your application, we will check that it is complete and meets the formal criteria and it will then be entered into the database of the Department of Fellowships and Awards.

Once the application has been checked for completeness, the applicant will receive confirmation by email.



Research Areas

Value of the Award
4.000,-- Euro

Biennally, in even years

Next call: April 2, 2024