The Critical Infrastructure Award is intended to recognize young scientists in the fields of computer science, (business) informatics, communications engineering, electrical engineering and automation engineering, or similar, for outstanding achievements related to safety-critical infrastructures (e.g., transport modes, energy networks, telecommunications networks).

The purpose of the award is to promote outstanding achievements of young scientists in the context of their PhD studies and is therefore intended in particular for the completion of a dissertation.

Target Group

Young, highly qualified scientists at the dissertation stage are invited to apply. Eligible to apply are

  1. Austrian citizens in doctoral studies at a university in the DACH region (Germany/Austria/Switzerland)
  2. Doctoral students at Austrian universities (regardless of citizenship)

In both cases, the start of the PhD/doctoral studies must not be more than four years ago.


Research Areas
Computer Science, Technical Science


Value of the Award
10.000,- Euro

Deadline for Submissions:
September 20, 2024