The Edmund and Rosa Hlawka Award for Mathematics is given to mathematicians holding Austrian citizenship and no older than 45 for outstanding scientific achievements in the fields of number theory and geometry, especially the theory of equidistribution and the geometry of numbers.

Submission Procedure

Scientists working at a university or a non-university research institution in Austria are invited to nominate suitable candidates.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Selection Process

Prize winners are decided by the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the OeAW at the recommendation of an awards committee on the basis of international peer review.

Nominating Documents

  • Personal statement by the nominator covering the following aspects:
    - nominee’s scientific career and international visibility in the scientific community
    - nominee’s influence on the development of research in the field
    - outline of the nominee’s research achievements
  • Tabular CV including list of publications for the nominee
  • Selection of a maximum of 3 of the nominee’s most important publications documenting the prizeworthy achievement (format PDF)

Please send all nomination documents in PDF format by email to stipref(at)


Research Area

Value of the Award
4.000,-- Euro

Biennally, in even years

Deadline for submissions
15 July 2024